The NAS Fellows have all made major contributions to the affairs of the Society and the development of the NAS within the discipline of nautical archaeology. All NAS members are encouraged to put forward names for fellowship nomination each year by the 31st August deadline. There are undoubtedly many members who deserve recognition in this way. Read more

Honor Frost Foundation IJNA Open Access Prize

The HFF IJNA Open Access Award was established in 2016 to give an article the benefit of Open Access, without the cost. Open access is a feature by which internet users can read and download a journal article without being a subscriber or paying for it individually. This makes the research available to a larger audience, which is beneficial to both readers and researchers alike. Read more

Keith Muckelroy Award

In 2009 the NAS took over the administration of the Keith Muckelroy Memorial Award from the Council for British Archaeology. The 2019 Keith Muckelroy Memorial Award will be announced at the annual Conference of the Nautical Archaeology Society in November 2019. Read more

Du Plat Taylor Grant Scheme

Joan Du Plat Taylor (1906–1983) was one of the first maritime archaeologists. She campaigned to bring nautical archaeology into the academic fold and was instrumental in establishing the Council for Nautical Archaeology and was founder editor of the International Journal of Nautical Archaeology (IJNA) from 1972-1980. Read more

Adopt a Wreck Award

Every year the NAS awards the Adopt a Wreck Award to the person or group who has made the most significant contribution to archaeology and researched through the Adopt a Wreck scheme. Applications normally close in October with the award being given at the NAS Annual Conference in November. Read more